Satiated UI Design Heuristics Project

Hi all, first original post here.

I’m new to UX and design research, but I’ve had an idea for the past year for what I’m now calling a Satiated Design Heuristics Checklist. Currently, NeilsenNormanGroup lists 10 Heuristics for UI Design, which lists out basic standards for quality website design. We also know, although without a comparable standard to the 10 NNG Heuristics, that bright colors, endless scrolling, and other subtle cues beget addictive design.

I would like to collaborate with folks on how to develop research/metrics backed heuristics on this kind of satiated design. I’m based in Brooklyn, and I can be reached here or at john.fallot@gmail.com.

3 Likes

I’m glad you’re interested in this topic!

However, I’m not sure it’s entirely true that there’s no comparable standard for what begets addictive design—it’s a reasonably well-understood area, but one that visual and UX designers aren’t great at talking about except in jargon.

Are you just looking to scientifically codify UX practices and their outcomes?

Reading material on the topic includes anything that talks about leveraging behaviorism research (by Pavlov, Skinner, and many others) to influence behavior, including operant conditioning methodologies. There’s already considerable research in general; you might be able to team up with a cognitive psych researcher or grad student to put together a grant proposal and research UX-specific applied behaviorism to get scientific data (as opposed to the user metrics various platforms already collect).

For a guide that’s specific to digital product UX, I suggest reading “Hooked” by Nir Eyal, which amounts to a pick-up artist’s guide to manipulating users via behaviorism techniques.