Portland OR meetup?

Anyone out there from PDX interested in starting a meetup? I’m a clinical psychologist and I think we need more mental health professionals in these conversation about humane tech. I have a specialty in physician wellness, and the physicians I see tell me that the greatest source of stress in their job is working with poorly designed electronic medical records (EMR) systems. They find the tech cumbersome, detrimental to quality patient care, and dehumanizing to work with. They tell me that it is one of the most significant contributors to physician burnout. There is something seriously wrong when our health care tools are harming the well-being of our health care providers.

Mental health professionals are at the front lines in dealing with the consequences of dehumanizing tech and we need more mental experts in these conversations. I think we have perspectives and expertise worth sharing. So, who in PDX would like to talk?

Dan

4 Likes

I’m so glad you brought this up. It perturbs me to see my doctor type into a computer while she’s talking to me. Even though I understand she’s trying to capture information for analysis and future reference, I find that the typing, computer setup, wires sticking out of the wall, and so forth affect my experience. It all seems less personal, less humane.

Good luck with your meetup. Look forward to hearing the results.

Thank you. Doctors don’t want to be attached to their computers. They want to be people who help people. I’m optimistic we can make cultural and tech changes that will re-humanize medicine.

2 Likes

@Dan_Rubin
Check out this article from the NewYorker last week… it explains the toll tech takes in medical professionals- excellent read and how timely I’d bump into this and your post a week apart- I think you’ll enjoy this based on your introduction Welcome!!

1 Like