Humane Tech: MSc Dissertation/Project needed!

I am an Human-Computer Interaction student and I will do a 3-month research project that has to be somehow related to Design and Tech. I would like to either do relevant research or to Design/prototype a solution that essentially tackles current issues of today’s technology that takes no account for human wellness. Since I am fairly new to this, do you have any suggestions for possible topics of research or solutions I can possibly design?

They can be potentially related to:

1. Privacy
  2. User attention
  3. Any other topic related to user wellness

Requirements:

1. I need to be able to apply a UX/Human-Computer Interaction perspective
  2. I need to come up with deliverables

Thanks for your help, hopefully I will be able to contribute :slight_smile:

3 Likes

Maybe do something relation to the use of technology in schools? How it effects learning… Maybe try and create something humane that teachers can use to engage students.

1 Like

Yes, that would be nice @sidnya. Something in the edtech sector. Maybe it can even be combined with the Education Program that we will create for this community. This will eventually be very large and aims to educate the broader public about Harms of Technology and their solutions in Humane Technology best-practices.

How big this will be you can read in my LinkedIn article “Small is Huge” that I created yesterday:

And this is where Humane Tech comes into the picture and the Humane Tech Community initiative - that I have become part of - really kicks off. We should see Humane Technology as a new area of expertise, a complete subject area that is a field of study in its own right. As I see it, in the future, you should be able to go to university to do a CS/BS combinational study of ‘Humane Technology’ and get your PhD in that. Eventually there will be many Humane Technology experts, consultants, professors and other authorities in the field.