How can researchers unite?

I’m a researcher of anti-distraction tools. It strikes me that there are quite a few researchers and academics here who share an interest in humane tech. How can we support each other?

I’m envisioning a loose network that can discuss research, facilitate collaboration, and spread ideas to a wider audience. For example, the usable privacy policy project has created a network, garnered attention and funding, resulted in a slew of publications, and released a tool for use by the general public.

I have two specific questions to kick things off:

1. What actions could we take to form such a network? Bonus points for actions that we could put into place quickly to build momentum.
  2. What research questions do you wish to answer? This could identify opportunities for collaboration and give us a sense of the diversity of our research topics.

I’ll chime in with my own answers soon, but wanted to first open the floor to others.

9 Likes

I can only say what I am doing. I am working with my public school which is in an influential neighbourhood in Switzerland teaching the kids and their parents responsible media exposure. As a PTA rep for my kindergarden I fight for more leisure activities for the kids, more forest days at school and a cheap daytime structure for schools to keep them interacting with eachother in persona instead of via smartphone.

We have introduced a policy which bans parents from driving their kids to school. In the US that would hardly be possible, but in our small city the police patrol to check if the kids are coming by themselves (by foot, on bike etc.) in little groups of 3-7 neighbourhood children. Walking / biking is healthy and walking together strengthens friendships and community.

We have to convince the libertarian and conservative parents that every penny spent on music, art and practical education is well spent, often better spent than with kindergarden Mandarin courses… :slight_smile: