Interpreting new privacy laws - NPR online privacy policy

June 30th, 2018 there will be a new privacy law regarding privacy and datamining collection notification.

Please be aware of new privacy agreements you sign with your online vendor relationships.

NPR gave a very simple explanation that point by point of the datamining practices they have- so kind of like someone telling us about the hidden cost of a free lunch…

I’m new to this awareness so my question is… after reading this statement about IP address “The Internet Protocol address (IP address) of the computer or device you used to access an NPR Service and information about your Internet Service Provider.”.
What can NPR do with this information?

Here is the link: https://www.npr.org/about-npr/610949940/npr-online-privacy-policy

NPR probably has a changed privacy policy because of the GDPR privacy regulations that come into effect on 25th of May.

I have to admit that when checking the URL for you I clicked away the consent message too quickly, but it might have mentioned something about trackers (I could clear my cookies to see the message again, but do not want to do this now).

If that is the case the Privacy Policy (PP) states it uses under Disclosure of Information, which includes:

With other parties if we have disclosed such sharing to you at the time of collection of the information or if we otherwise have your consent.

Now this includes advertisers, and in the first message I gave consent to transfer my data to them. Privacy Badger says that at least Facebook and Google are trackers on the PP page, among others. What will they receive? Well, that is the information described under Information Collected Automatically Through Technology and includes your IP.