Human Flourishing Design Guide: the science of well-being in the service of technology design

:warning: UPDATE: The HFDG website has been launched: https://flourishing.cc/

Hello everyone! I’m a designer who recently finished an MBA in psychology, and my graduation work was the creation of a science-based design guide for technology that supports human flourishing. I’m calling it Human Flourishing Design Guide (HFDG).

For obvious reasons, I’d like to share the guide here with you all, but I believe one reason is particularly important: the guide I developed was intended to be an “upgrade” of the Humane Design Guide (HDG) developed by the CHT. I’m assuming that some people here are already familiar with the HDG - maybe even using it in your own projects - and I would be immensely grateful if some of you could share your opinions and suggestions of improvements for the HFDG.

You can download the guide here

The HFDG tries to accomplish the following challenges:

1. Provide a pragmatic, easy to use guide for designers and technologists to develop technologies that enable human flourishing.
  2. Introduce a measurable, science-based concept of human flourishing in technology development practices.
  3. Advocate the idea that technologies doing anything less than supporting human flourishing have no reason to exist.

The intention to develop technologies that enable human flourishing is not new to this community or people interested in a world with humane technology. This very own community defined human flourishing as the ultimate goal of technology on the Pyramid of Humane Technology. Aza Raskin, form the CHT, also mentioned that we want human flourishing as the inverse of the human downgrading provoked by the current state of technology.