Google docs- are they secure and/or privacy-respecting?

Original title: Google docs- are they secure?

I’m falling into the grove of using google docs because I feel I have no choice.

Fir example- my daughter’s school is using google docs for her independent study school plan.

This is a perfect example of how parents are “forced” to expose their kids privacy without being informed.

So… Any suggestions? In the healthcare field we use initials or pick an alias.

Am I being unreasonable?

2 Likes

You’re totally reasonable and I agree. As a software engineer, I can tell you that no phone, no computer, and almost no online service as we know today is private or completely secure. Google Docs is no exception.

According to the research I’ve done into the topic, the reason why our devices and services are insecure is because of the way the capitalist tech industry works. Tech companies that maximise rapid growth do so by:

1. Taking shortcuts, such as making insecure systems and violating our privacy, not to mention taking advantage of us in other ways. These shortcuts are almost necessary for tech companies to achieve rapid growth.
  2. Deceiving us into trusting them. No I am not a paranoid conspiracy theorist. Tech companies thrive off of tricking people into believing they are safe, good and secure, when they actually are dangerous, bad and insecure.