Facebook and civil society in development countries

Hi, I am not a developer, not a decision-maker, I am simply a concerned citizen (of Europe) who was broad here by reading “Zucked”.

Of course, after finishing the book my own anti-Facebook feelings became quite strong and I almost completely stopped using it. But then, I would have never started using it in the first place, if it hadn’t been for professional reasons. I work in human rights of indigenous peoples and for many of my partners around the world, Facebook is the platform for exchange and networking. That’s why I couldn’t avoid creating an account in 2008, even though I already back then had a bad feeling about it. But especially when there are urgent situations, when human rights defenders I work with are threatened, when indigenous communities I work with face displacement and violence, Facebook is a place to quickly get the word out and have it spread through the network.

At present, I don’t see any other platform that could take its place, even though in the 90s, when I began working in this area, there was a global network, the Association for Progressive Communication, whose newsgroups, while being separate from the Usenet, were the default place for NGOs to go when they wanted to network. Just as the Usenet itself, they eventually faded into oblivion (And I am not sure what APC is doing these days. Back then, it was a global federal of politically progressive ISPs, but today it seems to be just one organisation.) So in the pre-Facebook times there were other options, although for an audience which was smaller by several orders of magnitue).