Work in progress: "Frederick Taylor Meets George Orwell in the 'Platform-Mediated' Workplace of the Future"

Greetings ,

I am an Industrial /Organizational Psychologist interested in issues of job and workplace design and labor-management.

Since Frederick Taylor’s “scientific management” revolution over a century ago there has been a tension between management and workers over control of the work process.

The emerging “platform mediated workplace” brings this tension into sharp relief as technology allows far greater control over work than ever before.

I have been writing an article on this topic and am interested in any comments or suggestions.

An abstract follows:

Frederick Taylor Meets George Orwell in the “Platform-Mediated” Workplace of the Future

Abstract

Over a century ago engineer Frederick Taylor unleashed a workplace revolution known as “Scientific Management”. Taylor surmised that great increases in productivity could be realized by transferring the thought and decision making part of jobs from employees to management. Scientific management entailed breaking down work into functions and tasks and discovering the most productive way to do each job.

In his novel “Nineteen Eighty Four” George Orwell warned that mass two-way communication could make it possible to influence and control people on a scale previously unimagined Although technology was only one dimension of Orwell’s dystopian police state it was the one which cemented the powerful ideological and repressive tools into a coordinated system.

Now in the 21st century we see the rise of the “platform-mediated workplace” that combines Orwellian surveillance and control with principles of scientific management and refinements developed in behavioral science in the decades following Taylor’s work.

Whether platform-mediated work results in an Orwellian nightmare of coercion and manipulation or an arrangement that benefits both worker and business is at present an open question.

2 Likes