How I went offline (mostly)

I would like to share the story of how I transitioned to an internet-free lifestyle. It may surprise you, and inspire you to do the same. There are so many benefits to such a move; indeed, too many to list! But some of them include:

• less stress and frustration
  • less life tracking by corporations
  • more situational awareness

Now, I am a software developer, which means I rely 100% on the internet and electronic devices not just for entertainment, but to earn my livelihood. So, if it’s “impossible” for anyone to go internet-free, you would THINK that would be me.

I should first qualify “internet-free” and say that this does not mean 100% (obviously, since this is an internet forum). What it means is that I do not use the internet on any of my personal devices or at home. When I’m at my office, I still use the internet.

How did this come about?

Stage 1 was to give the internet its own space. Just like it’s important to set boundaries in human relationships, it’s important to set boundaries with technology. That’s why I say your first step should be to establish a place for the internet. This might just be a room in your house, or a certain computer, or in my case, since I worked from home, a rented office space. Also, set up your workstation in a comfortable way.

Stage 2 was to find offline activities I enjoy. If you’re 30s and older, this might just be as simple as remembering what you used to do before you got the internet. If you’re younger than 30, you can reach out to some older folks for ideas, or perhaps get involved in your school, library, or any other social club based on locality.