I am presenting to kids on Digital Media next week - any ideas?

Hi,

I am a Prep School teacher in South West London and I have been asked to do a presentation on Digital Technology to Key Stage 2 (Year 3, 4, 5 & 6).

Having sat in numerous talks to children about the pros and cons, I always leave feeling that I have heard it all before. Some of the recurring themes/discussion points are:

• Empower children to be a responsible ‘digital citizen’
  • Educate children to create a positive digital tattoo or footprint
  • Children must report online abuse to an adult
  • Be nice when communicating with others online
  • etc. etc. etc.

I feel that whilst much of the above is useful, it misses the mark when it comes to ensuring that children use digital technology in an ethical way, and ultimately, in a way that aligns with who they want to be and what they care about. Furthermore, how can we best encourage them to manage their time effectively?
I often find that many children ‘talk the talk’, but when it comes down to it, many of them cannot say that the time spent on an iPad, iPhone etc. is ‘time well spent’.

Children need practical examples/application in order for a message to both resonate and stick with them. Many children in the age group I am talking to cannot wait until they receive their first mobile phone or iPad. It opens up a whole new world to them (Social media, games etc.) which they are so eager to immerse themselves in.

How do you think it would be best to get the message across? Any ideas and suggestions would be most welcome.

Thanks,
Byron

3 Likes

Hi Byron,

I wish you well in your discussion with the kids! In my work, I use acting and performance techniques to develop stronger communication and listening skills as well as focus and presence. This allows people to better connect with each other on a face-to-face level, as it is not effective if you have a screen in front of your face.