Privacy is fundamental to Humane Tech (and Democracy)!

I’ve been working in tech for over 20 years, and have always been aware (and worried) of privacy issues. The last couple of months I have read many, many articles and discussions about the subject, and it is WAY, WAY WORSE than I even suspected. The Cambridge Analytica scandal (among others) that led everyone to focus on FB is just the tiniest tip of a humongous iceberg.

I think that regaining control of our privacy is essential if we ever want to successfully fight tech addiction and other problems stated by the CHT. More attention to this subject is in order, IMHO.

There is a vicious cycle at play that drags us ever further in a privacy nightmare swamp that will amplify our tech problems, if we don’t break the cycle. Simplified the cycle goes something like this:

1. Start: Ad-based business models have proven to be very lucrative, and there is much to gain still, making it an attractive choice
  2. Attract: In order to increase ad effectiveness (and revenue) user retention and attention needs to be increased
  3. Retain: Behavioral designers, psychologists and marketers continuously optimize apps and services to achieve this, making us addicts of their products
  4. Collect: Users of these apps and services are sucked dry of an ASTOUNDING amount of personal information (amounting to many gigabytes)
  5. Re-sell: This information is sold on to many 3rd parties, adding an additional revenue stream, and 3rd parties in turn sell that data on to yet many other parties (eventually amounting in the 1000’s), each with their own revenue models, thereby further increasing the value of the data
  6. Analyze: Big data analytics, machine learning and AI’s analyze, combine, enrich, de-anonimize and aggregate the data. 3rd parties feed data back to app and service providers