Educating youth about the dark side of technology

Hi everyone. I’m an undergraduate university student looking at building a campaign to increase kids awareness of some of the negative aspects of technology. I’m starting off by contacting schools to send out a survey that asks various questions in relation to social media and Internet consumption. Next, I will collate this data and hopefully be able to run some workshops with classes. Finally, I would also like to interact with parents and teachers to raise their awareness too. At the moment I am targeting kids around 8-14 years old with my survey. If any of you are interested, I would love to hear your ideas on what you believe the most effective questions to ask would be, ways that I can make topics such as data analytics, targeted advertising, and attention mining more palatable for younger people, and general advice for beginning a campaign of this nature. Thanks in advance, and if you would like to know more or want to collaborate in any way, don’t hesitate to contact me!

I also created a logo if you have any feedback on that :slight_smile: https://imgur.com/a/HRhMrbj

Welcome, Emily :slight_smile:

Do you know the work of Sherry Turkle? What you are doing sounds very much like what she did and wrote about in Alone Together: Why We Expect More of Technology and Less of Each Other.

Thanks so much for your suggestion. I’ll definitely read up about her!

Hi Emily,

I’m interested in the results of your survey. When I’ve been talking about this in school I’ve focused on the point that these kids are the product on most things they’re using, being traded and sold for ad revenue.

Replicating something like this could be interesting too. Good luck and keep us posted! http://humanetech.com/app-ratings