A better social network (inspiration, research, opinions?)

idea

Hello forum! I’m a communications design student from Germany and in my upcoming semester I’m trying to tackle the question of how social networks should work (and look like) to be good for the user and society. I’m not going to build one of course, I only have a few months of time, but in summer I want to at least be able to present a rough concept of an alternative social network. The project is meant as „design fiction“, it won’t necessarily be marketable, or able to compete with existing social networks, I just want to give an insight into what could be or could have been an alternative way of connecting ourselves digitally.

I’m doing a lot of research right now, this is how I stumbled upon this forum, and I’m very interested to hear your thoughts on this, or if you have any links or book recommendations, or know of any research. I’d love to hear it.
(I hope I explained my project well, I’m never sure if I’m translating everything correctly. Feel free to ask, if you have any questions!)

Hi @frrrst,

I think that one of the main problem of global social networks is how they handle identity.

You can’t just put everyone in a single giant forum, talking surrounded by shouting strangers, it’s not working. It’s failing a lot of people (hate speech, discrimination, spiral of silence/loneliness).

But that doesn’t mean we can not interact with large groups, for example cities are working (we don’t fight each other everyday).
During the middle age in France, it was said that ‘In the city you can breath the air of liberty’ (not sure of my translation :/). Because you were far from the church influence/authority from rural villages, and also far from the King power/authority.
And why that? because the city allows you to be anonymous. It’s easier to play with norms, try new things, and it allows social progress.