Collecting cognitive science patterns that are at play on social media

As @tristanh often explains very well: Our minds are being hacked by social media!

This topic is for collecting concepts of cognitive science that are used to hook us

The corporations that develop our popular social media platforms have an army of people that help in their product design, whose purpose is to keep us online for the longest of times, and to have us consume content and services for their profit. Morality and ethics are often just afterthoughts in this process, and as a result people suffer the harms of technology that come with these products.

If we want to improve technology, define Humane Tech best-practices and design patterns, we have to understand the psychological and cognitive science tricks that are being played on us.

This topic is for collecting these tricks, and I encourage anyone that has expertise with these topics to contribute. I am a tech guy and not too experienced with this myself, have much to learn :slight_smile:

I am calling on the experience of my fellow community members with expertise in this, like: @steelcowboy, @SteveSanFranisco, @khkey, @bulbul, @joseadna, @christianne, @klukoff, @rebeccaf, @Richard, @cjamcmahon, @Drabiv, @Levimust, and many other I have missed.

If there is enough interest I can create a dedicated discussion group, similar to Campaigners and subproject to have section of our future Community website (work in progress) dedicated to Cognitive science + Technology topics. And follow up to How can researchers unite?

I will kick off with an interesting article I found describing the concept of: Social Proof

Social Proof, or Informational social influence is a psychological and social phenomenon where people assume the actions of others in an attempt to reflect correct behaviour in a given situation.

This ‘herd instinct’ dictates the fact that individuals feel they are behaving correctly when they act the same as others.